How to Use Signal’s Disappearing Feature

How to Use Signal's Disappearing Feature

In this article I discuss how to use the disappearing message feature in Signal or better known as feature Disappearing. When we talk about privacy, it’s not just about ‘hide‘ our messages from app developers or hackers use encryption methods. Sometimes we want to send some secret messages to our friends, which they should not see after a certain amount of time.

Signal is the perfect app to send disappearing messages to your contacts, be it photos, videos or text messages. If you use Instagram, you already know how it works. You can post photos on Instagram that others can see once. The message will disappear soon after. Signal has a similar feature. You can privately send photos and videos which will expire once they view them.

How to Use Signal’s Disappearing Feature

Here’s how to use the Disappearing feature in Signal:

  1. Launch Signal app and open any chat/chat.
  2. Tap the button ” + ” in the below section.
  3. Type message or choose picture or videoo from the photo library.
  4. Tap the icon loop loop in the lower left corner of the screen.
  5. If you see ” 1x ” inside the icon, go ahead and send the photo.
How to Use Signal-1's Disappearing Message Feature

Disappearing messages will not be saved in Signal app on your phone. Also, it will be deleted from the recipient’s phone once they see the image. It helps you in setting another level of privacy when messaging using Signal.

Also read: How to Use the Note to Self Feature on Signal

How to Set Time Period for Disappearing Messages Signal

The message that appears is a different matter. Disappearing messages are deleted automatically after the recipient opens them. Messages that are lost in Signal are deleted within a certain time limit. You can set a specific time period in Signal and all messages will be deleted from both sender and receiver automatically. Here’s how to set the time period for messages to disappear in Signal:

  1. open Signal chat on your iPhone or Android.
  2. Tap contact name or group name at the top.
  3. Enable option ” Disappearing Messages “.
  4. Move slider down for change the Disappearing timeout.
  5. Return to chat to save settings.
How to Use the Disappearing Message Feature of Signal-2

The disappearing message will show a timer icon along with the message you sent. You will see the timer move to the end until the message disappears.

Also read: How to Use Signal App (tips and tricks)

Even though WhatsApp has a disappearing message feature, it remains on a one week timeout. That means the message will be kept for 7 days, which you cannot change. While in Signal, it allows you to set timeout for messages to disappear from 5 seconds to 7 days, which is certainly more practical.

When you send a disappearing message in Signal to a group, it will be deleted from the devices of those who saw it after the timeout. The message will not be deleted for the entire Signal group, except for those who have seen the message.

That’s how to use the Disappearing feature in Signal. Hopefully this tutorial is useful for you. Thank you for visiting and don’t forget to share it with your friends too.