How to Use the “Restricted” Feature on Facebook.| If you want to limit interaction with someone on Facebook, the “Restrictedmight be useful. Indeed there are other measures as well like unfriend or block him. But this will break all your ties from that user on the social media platform.
So a more viable method is to take advantage of the restricted account functionality. In this article, I will detail everything about this feature right from the definition and about how you can use and add members to it. So without further ado, let’s get started.
What are Restricted Features on Facebook?
Suppose your parents recently joined Facebook and sent you a friend request. But you can’t really accept it in the first place considering some private pictures are posted on your timeline. Well, one thing that can be done is to make the photos private. But it may take a long time to hide each individual photo from public view. In this case, the Facebook Account Restriction feature will definitely come in handy.
If you restrict any account, your profile will still be visible to that user, but he will only be able to see pictures posted before his account was restricted. This is where the Block feature is most different. If you use the block option, your profile will no longer be visible to the blocked user in any way.
On the other hand, in case of Account restricted, all your recent posts, stories on Facebook will be hidden from it. But your profile will still be visible to them. This will not create suspicion in the minds of users whose accounts have been restricted, rather than blocked.
Can you view restricted Account Profiles?
Consider Facebook restricted accounts as one-way traffic. Meaning, you can still view all their posts and stories without any hassle. Well, you can even post on their timeline. It’s just that they won’t be able to see or act on any of your recent posts.
Likewise, even if they had been added to the restriction list, he would not be friends. This only happens if you block someone. Here, you can easily restrict or cancel any account without worrying about having to re-send friend requests to that user.
Exceptions to this feature
Yes, there are some exceptions to that. For example, if there is a restricted user account but you have published your posts, then that user can easily view your posts. The same rule applies if you bookmark it in any post. In both of these scenarios, he can easily bypass this limitation. So to make sure that doesn’t happen, change the privacy settings of the posts to Friends.
Apart from that, this feature also doesn’t work while you are chatting with them. Meaning, you can easily interact with that user just like you would with any other. he will not know at all that their Facebook account has been restricted.
Are restricted friends notified?
No, users will not be notified if you restrict their account. The same thing happens in the case of block too. But with a block, the possibility of raising suspicion is much greater. This is because if a user searches for your profile, he will not be able to find it.
He can easily guess two things that are going on: either you deleted your Facebook account (which is rare) or have blocked it. Likewise, to unblock any user, you have to resend a friend request to him. This all confirms his claim is blocked.
However, with the Facebook account restriction feature, you don’t have to worry about all this. The only way he can guess is by checking your account activity using your mutual contact Facebook profile. To be honest, not many would go that far just for the sake of this.
How to Use the “Restricted” feature on Facebook
Go to site Facebook and login with your account. After that open profile bro, then tap the tab “friend“.
You will see a list of your friends.
Select and click the option “Friend“, then click on “add to another list…“
On the menu that appears, select it and click “Restricted” and you will see a blue check mark indicating that the account has been restricted.
To cancel the account, tap again on “RestrictedThe blue tick will disappear indicating that the account is no longer restricted.
Read also: How to Know Who Has Viewed Our Facebook Stories
Red Thread | Those are the steps on How to Use the “Restricted” feature on Facebook. I cover everything about this feature in depth, including what it does, how it differs from the block feature and how to use it. Note that blocking someone is an extreme step. So just do it if you want to permanently distance yourself from someone.
Whereas if you just want to hide your posts from someone, consider limiting their account only. But of course, the decision is in your hands.